The Barn B&B
Bed & Breakfast σε Margam
Ουαλία > Neath Port Talbot
9.0
Εξαιρετικό
Από $67
Από $67
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1300
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
The B and B and Cottages were part of the historic Margam Abbey that was built in 1247. The farm was built around the same time but was modernised in 1880 and updated by us in 2009
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
The main features now showing are Victorian, but look hard and you can see past their facade.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Margam Abbey is 1 mile away and Kenfig Castle 1/2 a mile away still stands sticking out of the Sand Dunes.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes, but it still retains most of its Victorian features.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The red stones in the building are thought to be ballast stones from the ships that sailed into Kenfig castle to collect wool from the Abbey for processing in Somerset.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
The Name Tyn y cellar is Welsh for the Cellerer who was no 2 in the Abbey next to the Abbot and was responsible for buying, selling, hiring and firing for the abbey.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικά γεγονότα που έλαβαν χώρα στο κτίριο στο παρελθόν;
In the early 1300 sand blew in from the coast and covered hundreds of acres of farm land and is still here till this day and now forms part of the Kenfig Nature reserve and SSI site.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Yes the whole farm is grade 2 listed, and has had a complete historical investigation.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Φάρμα
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
The Black Boy Inn
Ξενοδοχείο σε Κερνάρφον
Ουαλία > Gwynedd
8.9
Εξαιρετικό
Από $101
Από $101
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1522
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
THE BLACK BOY or BUOY Inn Caernarfon

The question that requires an answer to is when was the name Black Boy first used?

Although records called The Ale House reconnaissance go as far back as 1764, only the names of the victuallers appeared with that of 'their guarantors up to the years preceding 1820. It was only in that year that the names of their licensed premises also appeared, and, in this case, we find that there were two adjacent taverns on this site. The Black Boy was No.7 in the street and the four Shillings and Six Pence was No.9, a Mr. Thomas Parry being the licensee of the former, and a Mr. Thomas Williams licensee of the latter.

Going further back to the turn of the century we find on a map dated circa 1800 that the official name of the street at that time was The Black Boy Street and the same is true of a Census of 1794. The latter was not a proper Census as those which family historians are accustomed. It was more of a head count giving only the name of the head of the family and recording where appropriate (and wife), then the number of children and of servants and finally a total of the number of people in the house. We find that 48 people in all lived in Black Boy Street in 1794. Further research in the Archives at Caernarfon showed that a dwelling house was sold by Mr. Thomas Wynne the squire of Glynllifon to a Mr Henry Robyn’s in 1717 and on the deed, it states that the name of the street was Street Y Black Boy.

Now if we could go back another 60 years, we would be in the middle of the period of the Protectorate under Oliver Cromwell and this is where a well known journalist and author, who died last year, Mr. Ivor Wynne Jones, claimed to have seen documents that were found when the renovations which included extension were made to this building some 50 years ago by the then landlord Mr. Norman Underhill. He maintained that it was here that the supporters of the monarchy met regularly and drank a loyal toast "To the Black Boy". They were referring to the heir to the throne who later became Charles II, but dare not mention his name lest they were overheard by some of Cromwell's spies. Black Boy was in fact a pet name given to the heir to the throne by his mother Henrietta Maria, French by birth but with some Spanish blood in her veins.

When Charles was born he is said to have had a swarthy complexion and his mother used to refer to him as "My Beautiful Black Boy! Now it is understood that there are Black Boy's in other towns and that this explanation is regarded as being the true version for the origin of the name. It is not; therefore, absolutely certain when the name Black Boy was first used in Caernarfon, but Ivor Wynne Jones' contribution to the debate cannot be faulted.

The next question that needs to be addressed is how it was that the "Black Boy Street" or "Street Y Black Boy" became to be called "Northgate Street" in English and "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech" in Welsh. To commence with, let us take the English name "Northgate Street". Along the centuries since the completion of the town walls in 1290 it should be noted that there was no such entrance in the town wall, and it was circa 1820s that the opening was created at the bottom of the street to allow access to the walled town. The entrance at the bottom of Church Street was the first to be created shortly after renovations were carried out to the 8t. Mary Church in Church Street 1810 - 1814. This it is believed occurred c. 1817, and was followed by the other two streets running parallel viz. Market Street and Northgate Street. In 1610, John Spede's Map shows that Palace Street was the official name of the street from Castle Ditch right down to where the town wall was breached and from then on that entrance was called "North Gate". Previously there existed only "The East Gate" 'Y Porth Mawr' and "The West Gate" 'Porth yr Aur'.

The answer as to why the Welsh name "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech" was adopted is quite apparent. As was first stated the present Black Boy is made up of two taverns No.7 and No.9 in the street and in 1820 when the new entrance became known as "Northgate" the name of the tavern at No.9 was "The Four and Six Pence" which translates as "Pedwar a Chwech". Hence the English version of the street name became "Northgate Street" and the Welsh version after a tavern in the street "Stryd Pedwar a Chwech".
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
1509-1547. Henry VIII was born at Greenwich on 28 June 1491, the second son of Henry VII and Elizabeth of York. He became heir to the throne on the death of his elder brother, Prince Arthur, in 1502 and succeeded in 1509.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
The Royal Town of Caernarfon UNESCO World Heritage Site. The castle attracts tens of thousands of visitors each year. Within the building, there is plenty more than just the architecture to be interested in. Although the castle is arguably Caernarfon's biggest attractor of tourists, it is not the only thing in the town worth visiting.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
In the last few years, major changes have been made.

But always in our mind to maintain the history.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
Age of the building and the history

Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade 2 Listed by CADW
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Inn
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
We are situated in an area where the living Welsh language is used every day.
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
White House Farm
Bed & Breakfast σε Hindolveston
Αγγλία > Νόρφολκ
9.7
Εξαιρετικό
Από $77
Από $77
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1500
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
It was a yeoman's house
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Medieval
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
There are some older houses
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
No
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικά γεγονότα που έλαβαν χώρα στο κτίριο στο παρελθόν;
No
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade 2 listed
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Garrison Of Inversnaid Farm with Hot Tub
Bed & Breakfast σε Inversnaid
Σκωτία > Στέρλιγκ
9.2
Εξαιρετικό
Από $189
Από $189
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα
Το Garrison Of Inversnaid στεγάζεται σε μια φρουρά που χτίστηκε το 1718 από τον Δούκα του Μοντρόουζ. Περιτριγυρισμένο από τα εντυπωσιακά φυσικά τοπία της Σκωτίας, το κατάλυμα έχει ανακαινιστεί προσεκτικά προκειμένου να γίνει το γοητευτικό Bed & Breakfast που είναι σήμερα.
Δείτε περισσότερα
Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1718
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Garrison for the British Army to suppress the Jacobite risings during the early 1700s, namely Rob Roy MacGregor and company.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Italian style box fort garrison (star shaped).
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Duke of Montrose memorial graveyard and soldiers that died during their posting at Inversnaid Garrison.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Only on the main house and one wall has been extended into a barn which is now guest accommodation.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
Existing walls and buildings.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
The land was originally owned by the MacGregor clan, it was then acquired by Duke of Montrose after Rob Roy MacGregor fell into debt and the Duke requested the military garrison to be built in the centre of the land to make a point to the MacGregor clan and Jacobite rising of 1715.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικά γεγονότα που έλαβαν χώρα στο κτίριο στο παρελθόν;
During the time of the battle of Culloden in 1745 the Jacobites burnt the garrison down and then it was rebuilt to the same footprint instantly.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
It’s classified as a Scottish historical monument and is C listed.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Garrison Fort
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Trehellas House Hotel & restaurant
Εξοχική κατοικία σε Bodmin
Αγγλία > Κορνουάλη
8.0
Πολύ Καλό
Από $63
Από $63
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1745
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Trehellas House has a long and interesting history, being at various times a farm house, a court house and the local village inn where many village functions were held.

When Maclean wrote his history of the parish of Egloshayle, Trehellas was know as the Washaway Inn where the monthly Petty sessions for the hundred of Trigg were still being held, The Long room of the inn was still used as a magistrates court into the 20th century dealing with minor offences such as drunkenness. The old joke was that those convicted or acquited consoled themselves or celebrated by popping downstairs for a drink.

In January 1760 a meeting of the justices and deputy Lieutenants was convened there. Frequent surveys for the sale of timber were also held at the inn. In the seventeen hundreds a venison club whose members comprised of the local gentry, dined at the inn several times a year. On the 9th November 1775 it seems that Sir William Molesworth of Pencarrow was set up as a candidate for membership and on December the 15th he was elected.

By the 1930s Trehellas was just a farmhouse, The farm being worked by the Lobb brothers, one of whom lived at Dunmere and did a milk round into Bodmin. He also ran a service taking batteries into Bodmin to be recharged, as at that time radios needed a wet cell that only held about 2 weeks charge.

At the end of WWII, a youth club with about 70 members was set up. The club met in the Long Room of Trehellas. The washaway families set up the very successful Washaway Concert parties which toured their shows around the local villages. Dances were held in the Long room. Sadly these activities had to come to an end as the Lobb brothers felt that they disturbed the cows in the dairy below.

Trehellas was eventually sold to someone who wanted to turn it into a restaurant which was called Wash Away Your Troubles. After this it became the taste of Malaya, a restaurant specialising in Malayan food. Now it is the extremely popular and successful Trehellas House Hotel and restaurant owned and run by Alistair Hunter.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Traditional Cornish stone
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Pencarrow House at the rear of the hotel
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
No
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The Court Room
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Lots of important guests all the time, Dames to Lords to M.Ps
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade 2 listed
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Φάρμα
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Castle House B and B
Bed & Breakfast σε Denbigh
Ουαλία > Denbighshire
9.6
Εξαιρετικό
Από $240
Από $240
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1735
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Lloyd George used to stay here on his way to Cricceth when Thomas Gee ( Local printer who printed the first bible in the Welsh language)

We have the story of Emily Fazakerly who lived here in the C19 and Howells girl boarding school who purchased it and used Castle House as a girls boarding house.

We lived in the house for ten years as a family of 9 children, turning into a BnB when the majority of the children flew the nest.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Georgian building with significant Victorian embellishments.

Incredible coving!
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
We also own the Town Walls 1250 and in our garden is Leicester’s Church built by Robert Dudley, lover of Queen Elizabeth II built as the first reformation building, a cathedral for N. Wales.

Being called Castle House, it is no surprise we are next door to Denbigh Castle!
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Insides are up to modern 5* Gold specification.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
Cornice work, embellished ceilings, arches.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Thomas Gee ( Printer)

DS Davies ( MP)

Howell’s School

Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade 2 listed
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Έπαυλη
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
Denbigh is one of the walled towns of N Wales

We own a significant portion of the walls.
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Swafield Hall
Διαμερίσματα σε Swafield
Αγγλία > Νόρφολκ
9.5
Εξαιρετικό
Από $142
Από $142
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1550
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Grade II listed 16th century Swafield Hall is mentioned in “The Buildings of England” by Nicolaus Pevsner and Bill Wilson.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
The Hall has a brick and flint Tudor North facade and a lime washed Georgian South elevation. The historic interiors include the stunning 17 meters long vaulted Ground Floor Hallway, with marble flooring and Georgian yellow walls and the chandeliers on the 18th century main staircase.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Extensive restoration was undertaken from 2015 to 2018
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Local legend reports that Admiral Nelson stayed in Swafield Hall, and some believe that the house is inhabited by a friendly ghost.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
The Hall is Grade II listed
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Έπαυλη
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Pillarbox Cottage
Κατάλυμα στον Μάτλοκ
Αγγλία > Ντέρμπισαϊρ
9.2
Εξαιρετικό
Από $96
Από $96
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1600
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Property is the barns of the nearby farmhouse. It was used as a council depot before the main barn was converted into a dwelling in 1996. Pillarbox Cottage was converted in 2008. It still has many original beams visible in the ceiling.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
The cottage is in a small courtyard with three dwellings.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Only in the sense it was tastefully converted in 2008 from a garage.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The exposed are quite impressive.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Property is Grade 2 listed.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Barn
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Marlborough Arms
Ξενοδοχείο στο Γούντστοκ
Αγγλία > Οξφορντσάιρ
8.8
Εξαιρετικό
Από $160
Από $160
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1469
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Originally the George Inn
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Situated in centre of town, 5 mins walk of Blenheim Palace
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Winston Churchill regular visitor
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
The White Lion Inn
Πανδοχείο σε Hampton in Arden
Αγγλία > West Midlands
8.4
Πολύ Καλό
Από $136
Από $136
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1600
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Originally a farmhouse that has brewed beer since at least 1700
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Tudor
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
11th Century church opposite, with Sir Robert Peels House, Hampton Manor , 500 yds away. The village has many historic buildings, including Fentham Hall, Beech House and many historic cottages
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Oliver Cromwell's commander stayed here
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Φάρμα
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
We 6 miles from Kenilworth Castle, 12 miles from Warwick Castle, 12 miles from Henley in Arden (Ann Hathaways House) 17 miles from Stratford on Avon
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Elen's Castle Hotel
Ξενώνας σε Dolwyddelan
Ουαλία > Conwy
7.9
Καλό
Από $141
Από $141
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1770
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Once the home of Baron Gwydir, Earl of Ancaster, Elen's Castle formed part of his Welsh Estate. Named after the daughter of Llywelyn the Great who was born in the castle here in the village of Dolwyddelan. The holtel was sold to the Baron's gamekeeper when it became a hotel which specialised in hunting parties. We have a roman well on the property purported to have healing properties.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
We are not sure of the date but we are told it is over 300 years old. It is built of solid slate as are the coach houses. The bar is set in the original kitchen with a large fireplace with a pot bellied log stove
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
The hotel is situated in the historic village of Dolwyddelan, home to Llywelyn the Great who was born in the castle here in the village. It is one of the few remaining castles built by the Welsh and you can still visit it today.

You can also visit the roman well at the rear of the property.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
In 2010 work started in association with the local historical society and with a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The roman well was the site of an archaeological dig and is now a visitor site.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The bar is situated in the original kitchen and has a large fireplace with a log burning pot bellied stove. There are historical documents on display in various locations in the hotel.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
The original owner was Baron Gwydir, Earl of Ancaster.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Home of the Gentry
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
The village of Dolwyddelan was the setting of Thomas Dylan's famous book 'A Child's Christmas in Wales'
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
The Bell in Ticehurst
Πανδοχείο σε Ticehurst
Αγγλία > Σάσσεξ > Ανατολικό Έσσεξ
8.8
Εξαιρετικό
Από $156
Από $156
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1560
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
The story of The Bell stretches back to around 1560 when it was a rather showy Tudor building. Over the years it was remodelled and extended with additions of bedrooms, kitchen and the assembly room for concerts, weddings and community gatherings. We have smoothed out the rougher edges but preserved the wonderful imperfections that somehow made it perfect.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
No
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Pickmere Country House
Ξενοδοχείο σε Pickmere
Αγγλία > Τσεσάιρ
9.0
Εξαιρετικό
Από $168
Από $168
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1772
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Originally built as a farmhouse, the largest in Cheshire in its day, with 95 acres of land the house was converted into a guest house in the 1980s.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Georgian, built during the reign of George ll
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
It is a rural property set in the middle of the village of Pickmere. There are a few other buildings in the village of the same era
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Work is on going all the time
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Φάρμα
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ξενοδοχείο σε Burton upon Trent
Αγγλία > Staffordshire
8.8
Εξαιρετικό
Από $181
Από $181
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1790
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Dovecliff Hall is a building steeped in history. A Georgian manor house dating back to 1790, it was built for the family of Thomas Thornewill, the owner of a forge converted from Stretton corn mill.
In the 19th century, it was owned by Lord Bass who made many contributions to Burton, including the Ferry Bridge.
The grounds in the late 1840s covered 39 a.Thornewill was succeeded in 1843 by his son Edward (d. 1866), whose widow Mary continued to live at Dove Cliff until her death in 1880. In 1881 their son, Edward John, sold the estate to William Joseph Smith of Alvaston , who also bought the family's iron works at Stretton. Smith died in 1891, and in 1897 his widow Frances sold Dove Cliff house with 55 a. to Hugh Spencer Charrington, a Burton brewer, already the tenant. Charrington died apparently in 1921, and the house remained unoccupied in 1928. It was a hotel in 1932, but seems to have been a private house again by 1936 when was bought by Colonel Sharpe. Known as Dovecliff Hall by 1987, it was opened that year once more as a hotel, still its use in 1999.

Built of red brick with stone dressings on a square 5bayed plan, the two-storeyed house has a hipped roof, sash windows, and external doorways with Ionic colonettes. The north projecting porch was added, probably when the house was re-ordered internally in the 1890s or early 1900s.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Georgian Manor House
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Tutbury Castle
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Έπαυλη
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Ξενοδοχείο σε Brockenhurst
Αγγλία > Χαμπσάιρ
8.5
Πολύ Καλό
Από $170
Από $170
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1627
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Traditional Thatched Cottage
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Located in the centre of the New Forest. Following the Norman Conquest, the New Forest was proclaimed a royal forest, in about 1079, by William the Conqueror.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade 2 Listed Status
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Springkell
Ξενοδοχείο σε Eaglesfield
Σκωτία > Dumfries and Galloway
8.9
Εξαιρετικό
Από $113
Από $113
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1734
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Owned by the Heron-Maxwells to 1894 and by the Johnson-Ferguson’s since then. Palladian Mansion house with stunning oak interiors. Refurbished in 1908 and 2009 with 21 ensuite bedrooms, ballroom and dining room. Dining room ceiling by the same firm who worked on the interiors of the Titanic.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Built in 1734 and the east and west wings added in 1834. Servant’s quadrangle added in 1905. Palladian.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes lovingly restored.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
Painted ceiling in the dining room. Marble surround mirror in the dining room. Black and white marble entrance hall. Oak panelling. Italian staircase. Italian rose garden. Round garden.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Princess Anne stayed most recently.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Έπαυλη
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
We are 9.4 rated out of 10 on Hotels.com

So come and stay and we will look after you!
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Ξενοδοχείο στο Γούντστοκ
Αγγλία > Οξφορντσάιρ
7.7
Καλό
Από $134
Από $134
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1200
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
The Oval, Dunster
Παραθεριστική κατοικία σε Dunster
Αγγλία > Σόμερσετ
Από $205
Από $205
Ιστορικό κατάλυμα Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1366
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
The Oval is one of the earliest houses built in Dunster. The house was originally a hall house, one large room with a fire central to it. Everyone who lived in the house shared one or two rooms, including the animals if the weather was especially harsh.

The fireplace is likely to have been on the street side, rather than where it is now, like the orange and black ‘cobb’ cottage you see further down the street. At this time - around 1320-40s - the other houses in the street would have been The Stag pub (which also had a wooden screen until a hundred or so years ago) and Spears Cross, the B and B further up West Street going towards the castle. The rest of this part of West Street probably had temporary houses of wattle and daub filling in the gaps. Some of the other smaller cottages between here and Spears Cross would have been built after the Black Death of 1348.

The wood panelling in the hallway is extremely old – you can see marks throughout where the carpenters have worked it by hand. It’s likely the screen in the hallway was added around 1450 -1500 to enclose the hall house, giving a mezzanine level where the main bedroom is now. It is unusual for this to remain as they were mostly pulled down in the Victorian era as walls were added.

The cruck beams in the main bedroom are of historical importance for this area of West Somerset. They are made from one large piece of wood and, unusually, they retain their original wooden pegs and holes. The craftsmanship and size of the beams suggest the person who built The Oval would have been wealthy. The beams came from the local area and are of historical significance, hence the Grade II listing.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
The basic structure of the house is cob, which is a wooden frame filled with rubble, stones and held together with lime plaster. This is the 1366 building - slap bang in the middle of the medieval period.

During the Tudor period, the wooden screen was added and probably the fireplace was moved to the wall (rather than the middle of the downstairs) and a staircase was added.

In 1810 there was a fire that devastated the cottage, and changes were made as a result.

In the Victorian era we think the twin bedroom was added. And at some point in the 1960 or 70s, an extension was added at the back to create a larger kitchen and the dining room.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
Dunster is the largest remaining intact medieval village in England. Almost all the properties on West Street, Church Street and the High Street are listed to protect their unique architecture. But there are also Georgian an Victorian buildings dotted around the main street and in the back streets too.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
The present owner has made very few changes, all in line with the permitted development based on the Grade II listing. She has added secondary double glazing and added a sun deck at the top of the garden on the hill.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The wooden screen in the main hallway, the cruck beam in the main bedroom, the wooden window and door frame to the utility room, the wooden door frames in the 'Snug' room and at the top of the stairs.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Grade II listed. Channel 4's Time Team has dendrodated the property to 1366. The photos are from that visit.

Historical England are in the process of the same dating.
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
The ceilings in the lower half of the property are low as you would expect. It is a deceptively large house, and the historical features sit happily side by side with the modern day comforts.
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Εξοχική κατοικία σε Invergordon
Σκωτία > Χάιλαντς
8.6
Πολύ Καλό
Από $134
Από $134
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
Kincraig Castle and the lands and villages of Kincraig were acquired by Colin MacKenzie, the second son of Rorie Mhor MacKenzie of Redcastle, who died in 1649, and is thought to have come to Kincraig around 1630.
Colin's great-grandson, John V of Kincraig, made over Kincraig to his distant cousin Roderick VII of Redcastle in 1760 and he gave Kincraig to his second son, John. After a very lucrative career in India, John returned to redevelop Kincraig.
The exterior of Kincraig Castle Hotel remains largely unchanged since the early 1800s, however the interior has been extensively modified over the years, to bring it back to and beyond its former glory.
The work was enhanced by John's great-grandson, Sir William Martineau in 1919, when he converted the sandstone castle into the white-harled Scottish Baronial building that you see today.
So, there you have it - a castle from the deep mists of the past that has evolved through generations of the Clan MacKenzie into the now renowned Kincraig Castle Hotel.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
19th Century, Scottish Baronial style.
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
No...Kincraig Castle is located on an elevated site in the countryside overlooking the Cromarty Firth and the Black Isle beyond.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Major restoration was carried out in the 1920's after the First World War and the 1960's when it became a hotel. Further restoration work was carried out in 2005
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
Baronial turrets and stepped gables.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
Several distinguished celebrity guests have stayed with us in the past.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικά γεγονότα που έλαβαν χώρα στο κτίριο στο παρελθόν;
Many functions and celebrations.
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
Kincraig Castle Hotel is a listed property.
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Κάστρο
Shooting Lodge
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
Kincraig Castle Hotel has a long association with the Mackenzie Clan of 'Outlander' fame dating back to the 1630's.
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
Hempstead House Hotel & Restaurant
Εξοχική κατοικία σε Sittingbourne
Αγγλία > Κεντ
8.8
Εξαιρετικό
Από $232
Από $232
Ιστορικό ξενοδοχείο Ερωτηματολόγιο
Έτος ανέγερσης: 1850
Ποια είναι η ιστορία του κτιρίου;
It was the estate house for the surrounding farmland and was built and owned by the Lake family who have now emigrated to New Zealand but have provided a lot of history about the house and the family all of which is available at the hotel.
Σε ποια εποχή και/ή σύμφωνα με ποιο αρχιτεκτονικό στιλ χτίστηκε το κτίριο;
Early Victorian
Το κτίριο περιβάλλεται και από άλλα ιστορικά κτίρια;
No but it is in the village of Bapchild which is where the pilgrims baptised their children on the pilgrimage from London to Dover.
Έχουν γίνει εργασίες αναπαλαίωσης;
Yes. We have extended the house over the years to provide 35 bedrooms, a 60 c0ver restaurant, a 150 seater function suite and a spa.
Υπάρχουν στοιχεία ιδιαίτερης ιστορικής σημασίας στο κτίριο;
The old stable building which was built in 1845 is now a large entrance and bar. It contains the original breathing tower for the horses.
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικοί επισκέπτες ή προηγούμενοι ιδιοκτήτες που αξίζει να αναφέρετε;
The Lake family
Έχουν υπάρξει σημαντικά γεγονότα που έλαβαν χώρα στο κτίριο στο παρελθόν;
No
Το κτίριο έχει λάβει κάποιο πιστοποιητικό για την ιστορική του κατάσταση;
No
Θα περιγράφατε το κτίριο του καταλύματός σας (ή έχει υπάρξει ποτέ) ως:
Φάρμα
Υπάρχει κάτι που θα θέλατε να τονίσετε, να προσθέσετε ή να διευκρινίσετε;
Beautiful original rooms with high ceilings and some original features.
Δείτε περισσότερα
 
*Ενδέχεται να υπάρχουν επιπλέον φόροι και χρεώσεις. Παρακαλώ ελέγξτε την τελική τιμή πριν ολοκληρώσετε την κράτησή σας.
Κατηγορίες:
  •     Ιστορικό (1660)
  •     Πάρκινγκ (901)
  •     Μικρό (840)
  •     Για Οικογένειες (754)
  •     Ρομαντικό (732)
  •     Για Νιόπαντρους (668)
  •     Δέχεται Σκύλους (617)
  •     4 αστέρων (616)
  •     Πολυτελές (605)
  •     Πρόσβαση ΑΜΕΑ (558)
  •     Business (482)
  •     3 αστέρων (431)
  •     Μπουτίκ-Στυλ (427)
  •     Γκολφ (387)
  •     Οικολογικό (386)
  •     Νυχτερινή Ζωή (375)
  •     Δωρεάν WiFi (352)
  •     Γυμναστήριο (212)
  •     Ενήλικες Μόνο (169)
  •     Πισίνα (169)
  •     Φόρτιση ηλεκτρικών αυτοκινήτων (159)
  •     Σπα (158)
  •     Εσωτερική Πισίνα (146)
  •     5 αστέρων (139)
  •     Θερμαινόμενη Πισίνα (109)
  •     Τένις (71)
  •     Κοντά σε Παραλία (69)
  •     Γιόγκα (51)
  •     Στοιχειωμένο (43)
  •     Κάστρο (42)
  •     Χώρος Παιχνιδιού για Σκύλους (42)
  •     Δωρεάν Διαμονή για Σκύλους (41)
  •     Υγιεινή & Ασφάλεια (37)
  •     Εξωτερική Πισίνα (30)
  •     Παραλιακό (19)
  •     Φθηνό (15)
  •     Δωμάτια με τζακούζι (14)
  •     Πισίνα με Διαδρομές (14)
  •     Αμπελώνας (6)
  •     Μοναστήρι (5)
  •     Σκι (5)
  •     Υπηρεσία Φύλαξης Σκύλων (4)
  •     Δωμάτια με τζάκι (4)
  •     Πισίνα Infinity (3)
  •     Πισίνα για Παιδιά (2)
  •     Πισίνα με Πανοραμική Θέα (1)
  •     Rooftop Πισίνα (1)
  •     Καζίνο (1)
  •     Ασυνήθιστο (1)
×
Άφιξη
×
Κατηγορίες
1
Χάρτης
× Αρχική Σελίδα Σχετικά με Εμάς Press Κατηγορίες Blog Hotel Awards Travelmyth GPT Επικοινωνία Όροι & Προϋποθέσεις Πολιτική Απορρήτου Πολιτική Cookies Συχνές Ερωτήσεις